A workshop of the STAF conferences, focusing on scalability in Model Driven Engineering.
June 17, 2013, Budapest, Hungary.

Spread the word » Proceedings »

Scalability in Model Driven Engineering

As Model Driven Engineering (MDE) is increasingly applied to larger and more complex systems, the current generation of modelling and model management technologies are being pushed to their limits in terms of capacity and efficiency. As such, additional research and development is imperative in order to enable MDE to remain relevant with industrial practice and to continue delivering its widely-recognised productivity, quality, and maintainability benefits.

The aim of this workshop is to provide a venue where developers and users of modelling and model management languages and tools can present problems and solutions related to topics such as:

  • Transformation, validation and automated management of large models.
  • Extracting large models through reverse engineering.
  • Collaborative modelling (version control, collaborative editing).
  • Techniques for efficient management/execution of large model transformations.
  • Model indexing and searching.
  • Model fragmentation.
  • Efficient model persistence and retrieval.
  • Models and model transformations on the cloud.

Important dates

  • Deadline for abstracts: April 22, 2013
  • Deadline for submissions: April 29, 2013
  • Notification of authors: May 13, 2013
  • Camera-ready: May 16, 2013
  • Workshop date: June 17, 2013



The proceedings of the workshop are available in the ACM Digital Library.


We advocate two types of papers: 4-page tool demonstration papers, and 10-page regular papers (including all text, references, appendices and figures). Papers must be submitted in PDF format and strictly adhere to the ACM SIG proceedings format. Paper submissions can be made electronically through EasyChair:

Programme Committee

  • Marco Brambilla, Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
  • Jesus Sanchez Cuadrado, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
  • Marcos Didonet Del Fabro, Universitade Federal du Parana, Brazil
  • Juan de Lara, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
  • Tihamer Levendovszky, Vanderbilt University (USA)
  • Jesus J. Garcia Molina, Universidad de Murcia (Spain)
  • Alfonso Pierantonio, University of L'Aquila (Italy)
  • Istvan Rath, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary)
  • Esther Guerra, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
  • Markus Scheidgen, Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin (Germany)
  • Salvador Trujillo, IKERLAN (Spain)
  • Daniel Varro, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary)
  • Massimo Tissi, Nantes (France)
  • Marko Boger, University of Konstanz (Germany)
  • Ed Willink, Willink Transformations (UK)
  • Tony Clark, University of Middlesex (UK)
  • Gerson Sunye, University of Nantes (France)