5th BigMDE Workshop

A workshop of the STAF conferences, focusing on scalability in Model Driven Engineering.
July, 2017, Marburg, Germany.

Scalability in Model Driven Engineering

As Model Driven Engineering (MDE) is increasingly applied to larger and more complex systems, the current generation of modelling and model management technologies are being pushed to their limits in terms of capacity and efficiency. As such, additional research and development is imperative in order to enable MDE to remain relevant with industrial practice and to continue delivering its widely-recognised productivity, quality, and maintainability benefits.

The aim of this workshop is to provide a venue where developers and users of modelling and model management languages and tools can present problems and solutions related to topics such as:

  • Working with large models
  • Collaborative modelling (version control, collaborative editing)
  • Transformation and validation of large models
  • Model fragmentation and modularity mechanisms
  • Efficient model persistence and retrieval
  • Models and model transformations on the cloud
  • Visualization techniques for large models

Important Dates

  • Deadline for abstracts: April 14, 2017
  • Deadline for submissions: April 21, 2017April 28, 2017
  • Notification of authors: May 25, 2017
  • Workshop date: July, 2017



We advocate two types of papers: 6-page tool demonstration papers, and 10-page regular papers (including all text, references, appendices and figures). Papers must be submitted in PDF and must adhere to the LNCS format. Accepted papers will be published in the DBLP-indexed, open-access CEUR Workshop Proceedings. Paper submissions can be made electronically through EasyChair https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=bigmde2017.

Previous Editions

Programme Committee

  • Konstantinos Barmpis, University of York (UK)
  • Marko Boger, University of Konstanz (Germany)
  • Goetz Botterweck, LERO (Ireland)
  • Marco Brambilla, Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
  • Loli Burgueno, Universidad de Malaga (Spain)
  • Rubby Casallas, Universidad de los Andes (Colombia)
  • Tony Clark, University of Middlesex (UK)
  • Marcos Didonet Del Fabro, Universitade Federal du Parana, Brazil
  • Antonio Garcia-Dominguez, University of York (UK)
  • Esther Guerra, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
  • Jesus J. Garcia Molina, Universidad de Murcia (Spain)
  • Alfonso Pierantonio, University of L'Aquila (Italy)
  • Markus Scheidgen, Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin (Germany)
  • Seyyed Shah, University of Oxford (UK)
  • Harald Storrle, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
  • Daniel Struber, Philipps-Universitat Marburg (Germany)
  • Gerson Sunye, University of Nantes (France)
  • Daniel Varro, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary)